Wednesday, August 20, 2014

Hugh Gledhill - Big Dinosaur Mouth (2014)

 Big Dinosaur Mouth is the debut album from London-based funk and soul guitarist Hugh Gledhill (The Jezebel Sextet, The James Taylor Quartet) on Sookie Records, featuring Hugh Gledhill on guitar, Seamus Beaghen (Trio Valore), on Hammond, Burundian singer/songwriter Mudibu on vocals, and the Killer Horns (Alice Russell).
Nine new songs blend Memphis soul, boogaloo guitar, Hammond and horns - all captured with outstanding sound quality on analogue tape. Mudibu features on four vocal tracks including 'Under Our Eyes' and 'Time, Strength...; Patience', two ballads inspired by Steve Cropper and Booker T & The MGs, plus the radio-friendly 'Don't Rush' with its summer soul groove, ska chorus and big finale.

Five instrumentals each contribute a different sound and mood. There's menacing wah on 'Three Tombstones', stuttering Hammond on 'Sweet Magritte' and raw boogaloo on 'Get Out'. 'Captain Thunder' peaks with rambunctious guitar and Hammond trading solos over punchy horn breaks and a JBs inspired groove.
The end result is an impressive and varied debut album from this talented British musician, celebrating the sound of 1960s soul, street funk and boogaloo.

No comments: